Altogether, a perilous day—Resolutions

Previously:

AR-ROOO!!! AR-ROOO!!! AR-ROOO!!!” Daisy bayed, and fearing for the worst, let out the death bay, just as the beagles had for for Hunter in the 21st Century, “AR-ROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!

Chris quickly grabbed her medical bag and knelt down beside him. Boomer was still breathing, but unresponsive. It didn’t look good.

Daisy silently called to her big sister, “Cujo, I need you!”

But Cujo didn’t hear her…

Season VI, Chapter 4 Predators and Victims, Episode 11:

Just as Chris knelt down beside him, Boomer suddenly sat up, pulled off his hat, and cussed a blue-streak at the hole in the crown, and then rubbed the slightly bleeding bullet graze atop his head, “Crap, that’ll leave a nice lump!”

Oh…thank goodness…”

Boomer  cussed a blue-streak ©2012 Jack Boardman

“Oh…thank goodness…”

Goodness? I have a lump on my head, I’m bleeding, and there is a hole in my hat! Goodness?”

“”You’re alive!”

Exactly my point! Is the shooter still out there?”

No people-dog Jack, I heard a horse galloping away.”

Thanks Buttons. I wonder why we were targeted?”

Still laughing at the Texas cowboys as they were reaching for their guns, Big Mac, with amazing speed for a fellow his age, drew his .45, and rapped both upside the head with his gun, “Barkeep, I’ll have a beer, please.”

Big Mac with a beer at Murdo Saloon ©2012 Jack Boardman

“Barkeep, I’ll have a beer, please.”

Right away, sir.”

It was over in seconds, Marshal Iverson and Tom succumbed to a withering barrage of fire from both sides. Their bodies were discovered by stable owner and blacksmith, Frank Peterson a half-hour later when he arrived to collect the bodies from the first massacre…seven were dead. It was some five hours later before he got back to Dreadwood with the dead—and the news.

Randall Kidd was standing outside the Dreadwood Saloon with a few of the locals when Peterson arrived, “They’re all dead, Tom, his men, and Marshal Iverson!”

One of the locals, a man planted by Kidd and McLintock, shouted out, “We need to go after these killers; who’s with me?”

Randall Kidd outside the Dreadwood Saloon ©2012 Jack Boardman

“We need to go after these killers; who’s with me?”

We should, but we ain’t gunmen.”

I am,” Kidd replied, “And I’ve done some marshaling in my time. You fellas round up as many boys as you can and bring ’em here at first light and we’ll track ’em down and give ’em justice!”

To Be Continued…

About Jack Boardman

Just a little bit of a Curmudgeon.
This entry was posted in Pioneer Danger Bay Stories, Season 7, Season 7—Chapter 4—Predators and Victims and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Altogether, a perilous day—Resolutions

  1. Chris Shouse says:

    Thank goodness that he is OK! I was worried all weekend! Well we have a lot of murders going on and bad men running all over the place and plants telling tales…maybe we will find out Kidds plan soon!

    Like

    • Jack Boardman says:

      Lots of headaches (well…at least three) in Dakota Territory this morning, Deputy Boomer and a couple of loud-mouthed cowboys…It COULD have been much worse! As for Kidd’s plan? Tune in this week as he and McLintock put the pieces of their plan in place. 🙂

      Like

  2. At least all the horses are LOOKING GOOD and not hurt!!

    Like

  3. Sarah Cooper says:

    *Whew!* Well, that explains why Cujo didn’t hear Daisy!

    Like

  4. yatters says:

    I gotta stop cleaning my glasses.

    I dunno something is missing here – Chris is holding a steaming hot cup of free trade coffee in her hand while in the middle of the prairie with not a campfire or coffee pot to be seen standing next to a guy who has ‘jumped’ up after being shot in the head is seems a little far fetched for me.

    However, I’ll come back in a few hours after an adjustment to the grey cells via a couple of ales and I’m sure it will as usual – seem just right. 🙂

    Like

    • Jack Boardman says:

      …a little far fetched for me…

      …Aaaaaaaand you DON’T find a bunch of 21st Century folks gallivanting about in the 19th Century just a bit FAR-FETCHED? :-p

      Like

  5. yatters says:

    Nah … from what I can tell – and let me assure you the telling ain’t easy, that’s an everyday event in St. Paul 🙂

    Like

    • Jack Boardman says:

      You’ve been here? How come you don’t use the “Reply” feature for comments? Is it a Canadian thing? 😛

      Like

  6. Daisy Boardman says:

    Well…I for one am happy you survived, Alpha-Jack. Would you happen to have a dog-treat for me? AR-ROOOO!!!!

    Like

  7. sgtmajcarl says:

    HAW! I’m in pretty good shape but you exaggerate my ability to move quickly. 😀

    Like

Speak your mind!

